1 minute readAir Marshal P V Naik to be next IAF chief

The Indian government has designated the present Vice Chief of Air Staff (VCAS), Air Marshal Pradeep Vasant Naik PVSM VSM ADC to be the next next Chief of Air Staff with effect from the afternoon of May 31, 2009. The present Chief of Air Staff, Air Chief Marshal Fali Homi Major PVSM AVSM SC VM ADC retires from service on May 31, 2009.

Born on 22 Jul 1949, Air Marshal Naik was commissioned into the Air Force on 21 Jun 1969 as a Fighter Pilot.

In his almost four-decade-long service he has served in a variety of Command Staff and Instructional appointments. He has 3085 flying hours to his credit. The Air Marshal Naik also served in the 1971 war. Before taking over as VCAS, he was Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief of the Allahabad-based Central Air Command.

Besides being a fellow of the National Defense College, New Delhi, College of Defense Management, Secundrabad and Defense Services Staff College, Wellington, he has attended a variety of courses like the Flying Instructor Course, Jungle & Snow Survival Course and Junior Commanders Course.

Air Marshal Naik was decorated with the Param Vishist Seva Medal (PVSM) and Vishist Seva Medal (VSM) and is one of the Honorary ADCs to the Supreme Commander, President Pratibha Patil.

Saurabh Joshi

Saurabh Joshi

Saurabh is a journalist based in New Delhi, India who has worked in print, television as well as internet news media. Besides defense and strategy, his past assignments have ranged from reporting terror strikes to elections. He has studied journalism and law at the University of Delhi. 


  1 comment for “1 minute readAir Marshal P V Naik to be next IAF chief

So what do you think?